Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Box 4257.026


Contains 10 Collections and/or Records:

John Marshall Letter, 1814-07-14

 File — Box: 4257.026, Folder: 10
Scope and Contents Letter from John Marshall, written on 14 July 1818, to Ann Willis about money sent to pay the tuition for Marshall's children. Marshall also expresses his regret over the closing of the school and that she can count on him to help her with any troubles arising out of the collection of tuition fees due her.
Dates: 1814-07-14

Duncan McQueen Letters, 1837 - 1889

 File — Box: 4257.026, Folder: 9
Scope and Contents Letters to Duncan McQueen (MacQueen) of Caledonia, New York, and later Barton, Wisconsin, from his family in Achnahannet, Scotland, giving him news about the lives and activities of friends and family in Scotland, including illnesses, death, and financial concerns.
Dates: 1837 - 1889

Mary L. Scott Letters and Artwork - Painting

 File — Box: 4257.026, Folder: 8
Scope and Contents Letters to Mary L. Scott of Louisville, Kentucky, primarily from from Willis Wilson Jr. of Chicago, Illinois, discussing their romantic relationship and well wishes for success in her work at school. A letter from B. W. Hartley, Superintendent of Louisville Public Schools instructs her to report to work as a teacher. There is also a letter from Newton Ball of Boston, Massachusetts, writes about missing her correspondence and hopes she will write back.There is also a colored pen and...
Dates: 1803 - 1946

A. Q. Thompson Letter, 1845 June 14

 File — Box: 4257.026, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents Letter from A. Q. Thompson of Elizabethtown, New Jersey, to his wife Theo Thompson, in Louisville, Kentucky, telling her of his activities as well as the news about their family and friends. He also includes "letters" from their young daughter Harriet to her "dear Mamma."
Dates: 1845 June 14

Sylvester Welch Letter, 1833 July 26

 File — Box: 4257.026, Folder: 2
Scope and Contents Letter from Sylvester Welch of Burlington, Virginia, to his niece Eliza Means of Champain County, Ohio, in 1833, giving her updates on family members and informs her that her grandmother has died.
Dates: 1833 July 26

Mrs. E. J. Clarke Letter, 1840 July 10

 File — Box: 4257.026, Folder: 3
Scope and Contents Letter from Mrs. E. J. Clarke of Talladega, Alabama, to her friend Isabella Morrison of Dunbarton, New Hampshire, describing the pain of losing her son and the joy her infant daughter brought. She also describes her house in Talladega, and although she says it is beautiful, she wants to return to New Hampshire. She states that it is harder to buy goods, because Southern money is depreciating.
Dates: 1840 July 10

Letter from E. J. to Mrs. Gould, 1848 June 6 - July 3

 File — Box: 4257.026, Folder: 4
Scope and Contents Letter from E. J. of Madison, Georgia, to Mrs. Gould of Augusta, Georgia, discussing her concerns over the lack of from her. correspondence between them. In the majority of the letter she voices her concern over the rumor of marriage of Mrs. Gould's daughter Julia to a Mr. Paul, who may not be suitable. E. J. asks for clarification about the situation and requests that this letter be kept private.
Dates: 1848 June 6 - July 3

Letters to Emma Langham, 1851-1855

 File — Box: 4257.026, Folder: 5
Scope and Contents Letters written to Emma Langham of Columbia, Tennessee, from her mother Martha Goodson and brother, both of Richmond, Virginia, discussing society issues, including who has been ill, who is getting married, and other gossip about mutual acquaintances. Her brother's letter discusses the illness of her their brother Edgar and later her mother writes of his death.
Dates: 1851-1855

George Ekin Letter, 1853 June 9

 File — Box: 4257.026, Folder: 6
Scope and Contents Letter from George Ekin of Knoxville, Tennessee, to George E. Haff of Abingdon, Virginia, asking if he had offended Haff in any way since he had not received a reply to his last letter. He also includes news of quarterly meetings.
Dates: 1853 June 9

W. W. Brickell Letter, 1855 February 6

 File — Box: 4257.026, Folder: 7
Scope and Contents Letter from W. W. Brickell of Athens, Alabama, to his brother Robert in Huntsville, Alabama, discussing his failure to find work as a clerk. He ends the letter with a postscript asking Robert to "tell Dick I am running against him in the whisker line." While Dick has a goatee, Brickell has a moustache but thinks he can win the contest.
Dates: 1855 February 6